The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Why is the latency for my Bricasti changing between sessions? Audio Interfaces
Old 23rd November 2016
Lives for gear

Why is the latency for my external FX changing between sessions?

I do everything ITB except for one Bricasti connected to my Windows 10 machine via AES through an RME HDSPe AIO. So, I'm a novice at hardware.

To synchronize the Bricasti, I'm setting Dry Gain to +1.0, Wet Gain to 0.0, and I phase invert the signal returned from the Bricasti, and I find it's delayed by 298 samples, so I accommodate for that in Reaper.

And then a few days later, I don't hear anything wrong, but I'm curious so I test again, and now the return from the Bricasti is delayed by 299 samples instead of 298. And it creeps back and forth. Hopefully not within a single session, but I'm not sure.

Why would it be creeping like this? Can I stop the creep, so I don't have to keep testing?
Old 23rd November 2016
Lives for gear

Generally the latency of digital hardware itself is typically fixed, however some some models can vary according to selected program/patch.. It doesn't seem to be this case though, 1 sample difference is at level of some error with offset detection, whereas program latency changes, which I've mentioned, are much more than that, because for example another module with some look-ahead, FIR filtering, oversampling is being added to the path.
Anyway, you can probably verify that with Bricasti, maybe also @ Casey can confirm that.

To avoid possible errors with detection, when you'd repeat offset test once again, then be sure to use right signal for that, the Insert>Click source from Reaper menu is a good one, IME. Uncheck the option "Use audio driver reported latency" at Preferences/Audio/Recording temporarily just for the test. Switch to sample units there and find the exact offset.