The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Advice please? USB, Firewire, Thunderbolt Audio Interfaces
Old 9th September 2016
Lives for gear

Advice please? USB, Firewire, Thunderbolt

Hi all;

So I have a new puter being built for me by ADK. It will be fast n snappy, 32 Gb of ram, The motherboard is: Intel LGA1151: Z170 3x 16X PCIe, 4x PCIe 1x, dual channel DDR4 2133+, M.2, USB3.1 The processor: Intel Core i7 6700 Skylake 4GHz Quad 8 meg cache with HT. It will run on Windows 10.

I have been using a focusrite 18i20 first generation for several years. It's okay, but got clogs very easily if the track has a ton of tracks and/or VSTs running. My current PC is puny by modern day standards.

I know part of the problem is usb 2. So I'm looking to upgrade interfaces before the new computer gets here (3 weeks or so). I've been wanting to get the Focusrite Thunderbolt unit, BUT of course it isn't Windows-friendly yet. Firewire seems to be dying out and I'll have to get whatever adapter or card needed for firewire OR thunderbolt.

Wanting to keep the price down to $1000 or less. I'd prefer thunderbolt and focusrite has worked well for me, I understand the on-outs well ( I have different compressors and processors jammed in the back of the 18i20, almost like a patch bay).

SO... do I just wait this out until Focusrite get the drivers in place to properly run their thunderbolt unit on a PC, or is there a 8-input/8-output thunderbolt unit that runs on Windows now that I don't know about that costs near or barely over $1000? Any MOTU users happy with theirs? Any jimmyrigging that works to get a Thunderbolt to work properly on Windows?

Thanks !
Old 9th September 2016
Gear Addict

Why not PCIe?
Old 9th September 2016
Lives for gear