The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
ableton 9 and kenton usb? Keyboard Synthesizers
Old 7th July 2016
Here for the gear

ableton 9 and kenton usb?

hi everyone,

i recently got a kenton usb solo with hopes of being able to record my pro solo one synth on ableton, but it doesn't seem like ableton recognizes kenton.

i'm fairly new to ableton so i'm not sure if i'm doing it all right, but i've looked up videos on how to connect external instruments, and everyone has said to just go into the "audio" tab and scroll through the input menu, but kenton isn't even there. i know my computer recognizes it because the it turns on when it's connected, so that's led me to believe it's an ableton issue.

has anyone had this problem or know of a solution? i mean i could very much be clueless as a beginner to ableton in general.

i appreciate all the help!
Old 7th July 2016
Lives for gear

It could be a number of issues, you didn't say what OS you were running, .. and I have never used true device you mentioned, but perhaps there is a driver, or you have to go to your audio/midi setup on OSX or whatnot…. Is it plugged into a hub? That can cause problems, usually you want your interface directly plugged into cpu… etc.. but I haven't seen Ableton NOT recognize anything before...
Old 7th July 2016
Lives for gear

The Kenton USB-Solo is only for controlling a synth with CV signals. In Ableton it should appear as a MIDI output. It does not deal with audio and has no inputs - you will need an audio interface for that.
Old 7th July 2016
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by explorer View Post
The Kenton USB-Solo is only for controlling a synth with CV signals. In Ableton it should appear as a MIDI output. It does not deal with audio and has no inputs - you will need an audio interface for that.