The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Varispeed (How do you) Audio Interfaces
Old 14th February 2007
Gear Maniac

Varispeed (How do you)

Hello, I'm a Logic Pro user (or should I say native user) and I am in need to varispeed material. Exactly like a Studer would do. I had a Fireface 400 and it had a varispeed like feature but it wasn't very reliable.

I have no idea how to vari speed in the native world, without Pro-tools VSO capability.
Would I have to get external clock and vari speed the clock. Or do I have to get another sound card, besides my 1010.

What I want to do is slow down and speed up while I'm recording so that there are pitch differences. Also, varispeeding my mixes is also in question.

I know about Pro-tools VSO, RME DigiClock thing where you can vari-speed but you can't record that way, and about changing the sample rate higher than where I'm at. None of these are what I'm after. I'm looking for true 2" tape type vari speed. No Time compression or any plugs.

any help or how to
Old 14th February 2007
Here for the gear

reaper can do that i think.
Old 14th February 2007
Lives for gear

Not really a varispeed tool -- more of a pitch/format/transient app -- but might let you approximate it (?):

iZotope Radius
Old 14th February 2007
Get a cheap MDM like a DA88 or Alesis D20 and use that to clock your system.

Rail
Old 14th February 2007
Lives for gear

anyone else wanna chime in on this?
Old 14th February 2007
I don't understand EXACTLY what you mean by Varispeed. Is it like slowing down or speeding up a sound?
Old 14th February 2007
Gear Maniac

I'll check this reaper out. Izotope I distinctly do not want any time compression / expansion algos at all. DA88 Alesis makes since, but can't something else do that that has nothing to do with such an old device. I'm thing external clocking device of some sort.