The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Water Cooling Systems
Old 5th February 2007
Here for the gear

Water Cooling Systems

What’s up all? I’m currently building a Quadzilla and I want to water cool this thing. I’m currently looking at the Zalman Reserator 1 v2 and the Reserator 2 cause they look well built. I’m completely new to water cooling companies. I understand how the idea works, and could build my own system if I knew what companies and parts are the best. I was going to go phase change with the VapoChill Lightspeed LS, but I’ve talked myself out of that because of noise. Anyone know of some quality water cooling systems or companies to buy parts from? What about the two Zalman’s I mentioned, anyone know anything about these? Thanks in advance.

Sorry for the triple post, in case you saw this in the Windows LE or Windows TDM forums at the DUC!

gym*
Old 5th February 2007
I would not cool your CPU with water.

1. more expensive
2. if you cool with water, all the sourrounding pieces will get much hotter (because of missing air-movement)
3. north and southbridge (depeding on the board and CPU) may need also watercooling.

If you buy a big ZAHLMANN CPU-Ventilator, you pay +/- 50$... watercooling is 4 times as expensive + working hours...

cheers
Old 5th February 2007
Here for the gear

what if I also have MASSIVE air cooling within the case and cost is not an issue? I'm only looking to reduce CPU, Video Card, and HD temp and possibly overclock the CPUs in the coming months.
Old 5th February 2007
Lives for gear

HI,
the zalmans are not designed for dual cpus.
i am using the zalman 1 for my HTPC and it works very well.
i had no choice as i needed quiet and i have no air flow where my HTPC is
and was not about to cut holes in a solid oak entertainment center.

however for a daw i see no point to it.
you can air cool quieter and better for much less.

Scott
ADK

and why are you building an opteron when a single Intel Core 2 Quad kicks its butt big time