The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Can't find decent interface! Audio Interfaces
Old 30th March 2016
Gear Maniac
Can't find decent interface!

So, I've recently tried an RME Babyface Pro and a UAD Apollo Twin USB.

I read and studied the reviews carefully, thinking one of them would be the answer to a long standing ongoing problem I have. Recording a decent electric guitar tone.

Neither of them satisfied. I'd had a long chat with music staff, listened to the youtube demos, the samples on the websites etc. I've been recording for about 5 years, playing for about 15.

Amplitube etc don't do it for me when it comes to distortion.

I have a Marshall DSL 2000 DSL 401 combo, but no way I can mike up without annoying the neighbours. Also have the original desktop Tonelab and I'm actually quite happy with the sound of it. Have never been able to get a good tone recording with it really.

So, I'm at a complete loss as to where to go next.

Torpedo Live maybe for the amp? And what interface? I'd be willing to spend a bit of cash if it solves the problem.

Any help much appreciated, this has been taking much time and energy.
Old 30th March 2016
Lives for gear

Frankly I don't know, what exactly you're expecting from the interface.. so I'm finding your thread title bit misleading.
I believe there is actually quite a few interfaces, which could serve to your planned purpose.

There are two basic things, which are typically important..
- round-trip latency, when you'll be using amp simulators. Both mentioned interfaces are very good in that, especially Babyface (but according to reports, USB Apollo at Windows is also pretty good).
- solid analog input, which will accommodate the signal from your guitar or preamp