The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Best audio interface for bypassing preamp Audio Interfaces
Old 23rd January 2016
Here for the gear

Best audio interface for bypassing preamp

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting but I have been lurking on here for awhile as I have been putting together my home studio.

I am using a royer r-101 with a Universal Audio preamp (710 twin finity) and I am wondering what is the smartest (with some regards to cost) way to connect this to my DAW. I also have a relatively cheap Yamah MG10XU mixer that I was planning to run this through (it is usb) but it occurred to me that running a top of the line mic and preamp through this cheap mixer would diminish the sound quality.

The best advice I received calling various stores was through sweetwater where the salesmen recommended the babyface pro as he said I could go into the line in to bypass the pre but still benefit from the quality of the digital to audio converters built into the unit.

I am a bit reluctant to spend 750$ on an audio interface that touts great onboard preamps and tons of effects I don't need when I already have a single channel preamp that is higher quality and better editing software--and I am wondering if it is possible to find a cheaper unit that will allow me to bypass the onboard preamp/effects/eq circitry while still providing a high quality analogue to digital converter?

Thanks for everyone's help, I wanted to check here before going ahead with this final piece of kit!

Saxplayer
Old 23rd January 2016
Lives for gear

By all accounts (except for maybe RME) the preamps are decent but not great. The value of the interface is not in the mic preamps. The Sweetwater guy was right, that interface sounds just what you're looking for.

Last edited by Me_Likey; 23rd January 2016 at 09:26 PM..
Old 24th January 2016
Audient id22