The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
antelope orion studio vs Metric Halo LIO 8 Studio Monitors
Old 22nd January 2016
Gear Nut
antelope orion studio vs Metric Halo LIO 8

I have been using the LIO 8 for a couple years it sounds great. I have a second computer I have been using quite a bit for starting songs in my living room and was thinking of getting an interface with more than 2 inputs. I'm using a Grace 905 as my preamp/DAC for my hifi system in my living room. I can get 2 channels of input via AES from a Grace V3 mic pre AD converter and a NEVE RNDI for input from line instrument. It's a really good clean sound but only 2 channels.

I am wondering how the sound would compare to the Antelope unit? It's got a ton of features for the money. I'm wondering if I could replace the LIO 8 and bring that in my house system or would I be better to just get another LIO 8?
Old 22nd January 2016
Lives for gear

Not the same league for sure. The orion delivers great value for the money but when comparing to high end converters it loose. The LIO has quite good converters instead, but 'only' delivers 8ch.
Old 22nd January 2016
Gear Nut
Quote:
Originally Posted by JP__ View Post
Not the same league for sure. The orion delivers great value for the money but when comparing to high end converters it loose. The LIO has quite good converters instead, but 'only' delivers 8ch.
Thanks for your opinion. I was mainly interested in the brand since I know Antelope makes some DACs that are considered pretty good in hifi circles and I thought maybe this would spill over to their pro gear as well
Old 24th January 2016
Gear Addict

I was wondering if anyone else could chime in to provide their opinion of these two interfaces; as I too was looking into purchasing either one of these two interfaces.