The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
PLASMA or LCD to display Video - PT Mac
Old 26th January 2007
Lives for gear

PLASMA or LCD to display Video - PT Mac

I'm currently putting together a Mactel PT HD-3 System.

What options do I have to say display the video in the PT project on a PLASMA/LCD.

Also which one? PLASMA or LCD.

What do look for in the PLASMA/LCD when buying?

Thanks for all advice,

David
Old 26th January 2007
Gear Addict

I think that you are aware that plasmas are prone to "burn-ins" when static images are displayed for extended periods of time
Old 26th January 2007
Lives for gear

Actually I have no experience with both Plasma and LCD. We will be the first studio in our neck of the woods to have such a set. For audio that is. There is one edit suite that had a plasma for a while now.

David
Old 26th January 2007

LCD's are generally safer, but if you buy a plasma with a burn-in resistant technology, it's less of a concern. Panasonic has this type of technology. I at one point had my 42" plasma for Pro Tools mixing, but the resolutions weren't quite high enough for critical editing.

I would suggest looking for the highest resolution display you can find.
Old 26th January 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyBelmont View Post
LCD's are generally safer, but if you buy a plasma with a burn-in resistant technology, it's less of a concern. Panasonic has this type of technology. I at one point had my 42" plasma for Pro Tools mixing, but the resolutions weren't quite high enough for critical editing.

I would suggest looking for the highest resolution display you can find.
Won't be using it for editing - it will be to display the video content of say a TV ad we are composing to or doing sound design for so the client can sit in the confy leather couch and view with ease.
Old 26th January 2007
Gear Guru