The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
New Macbook Pro
Old 8th January 2016
Gear Maniac

New Macbook Pro

So, I'll be buying a new MacBook Pro in a few days. My budget is $3K and that means the 13 inch with 256gb drive.

However, I can afford one upgrade. I can afford to upgrade the ram to 16gb from 8gb or I can afford to upgrade the processor to I7 from I5.

I mainly do music in Reason and Studio one with Battery and Vanguard. I'm not a pro by any means and just tinker.

So, I guess my question is, which upgrade do you think would be the most beneficial?
Old 8th January 2016
Lives for gear

I suggest the baseline 15-inch for nearly double the power vs the top of the line 13-inch.

If you're going to pay that much the 15-inch is a better value.

Old 8th January 2016
Lives for gear

I'd go for a refurb i7 15" with 16 gB and 512GB for $2k. I've got a 2014 one of these and it's a great portable music machine.

-Brian
Old 8th January 2016
Gear Maniac

I was thinking about that however I walk/use public transport and the 15 inch wouldn't fit in my camera bag unfortunately so I was hoping to get the 13

Is the battery life good on the 15? And is it really near double the power?

Just curious because the base line 15 inch is about $800 more than the 256gb 13 inch (I'm in Australia and we get charged through the nose)

Last edited by Squidy; 8th January 2016 at 10:00 PM..
Old 8th January 2016
Gear Addict

Not to sound like a broken record, but I'd definitely see if you can get a 15" MB Pro. It comes with 16GB RAM standard and even the baseline quad i7 will be an improvement over the upgraded dual i7 in the 13".

I assume that you are not talking US $, as your $3k budget will take you well into 15" MacBook Pro territory.