The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
RME Fireface 800 / UFX , Midas XL-48 / Audient ASP800/880
Old 28th December 2015
Here for the gear

RME Fireface 800 / UFX , Midas XL-48 / Audient ASP800/880

Hi there

I am a drummer and i have a home studio and its time to upgrade my soundcard and preamps.

My current budget is about 1600 euros.

In my home studio i record everything for the bands i play , but also for other bands.
I work mainly with metal/extreme metal music , and i have 2 drumkits , Yamaha Recording Custom and Yamaha Maple Custom.
Some of the mics are Sm7b , sm57 , beta52a , Rode Nt5 , Oktava Mk012 etc.
My DAW is Cubase.

Right now i have 3 Mackie Onyx Blackbird chained via adat and firewire.
That gives me 24 channels and i use 20 of them because i have a very big setup and i like to close mic almost everything.
Very nice interface with good preamps and never had any problems.

Now its time to upgrade for something better.
My main concern is the drums , but i also want something good for Guitars and Vox.

So for my main interface , i can buy the RME Fireface 800 for 700 euros , used but in excellent condition (tested) or the RME UFX for 1400 euros (also used and tested)
I dont need the extra staff UFX is giving , but i know it has better preamps and converters , so as my main interface that i want to keep for 2-4 years (hopefully) do you think it deserves the extra money?
And i am also thinking that maybe RME introduces a new UFX in 1-2 years as did with the new 802?? who knows..

If i buy the UFX i will keep the 2 Mackie Onyx Blackbird.

Now if i go with the RME Fireface 800 , i will have another 900-1000 euros where i can buy a new 8channel preamp to replace one of the Mackie.

From my research i am between Midas XL-48 or Audient ASP800/880.
Which do you think is better for my situation ? (mainly for drums , but also guitars and Vox) or do you have anything else to suggest?

Thanks