The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Automating the Sonimus Britson fader Saturation Plugins
Old 14th October 2015
Gear Head

Automating the Sonimus Britson fader

I just downloaded the Sonimus Britson plug, and it's my first time working with VU meters. This might be a silly question, but I'm trying to figure out how consistently the VU meter needle on the Britson should hit 0VU on individual tracks. If my VU levels aren't consistently hitting 0db, am I not taking full advantage of the Britson?

Here's the story behind why I'm asking this:

I'm currently working on a song with a very dynamic vocal track. The softest sections are far below 0VU, but the peaks push the needle all the way into the red. On the Britson instance that's inserted on the vocal chain, does it make sense to automate the Britson's fader level so that the needle on the VU meter dances around 0VU for both the quiet sections and the loud sections of the track? Or should I just set the fader at a permanent level so that the VU meter hovers around 0VU during the loudest sections, even though the softer sections would then be far below that point?

Also, just as a general question, I've noticed that I need to push the fader up on the Britson on a few of my recorded tracks to get the volume around 0VU, but most discussions I've read on using the Britson seem to consistently mention pulling its faders down to keep individual track levels around 0VU. Is this a sign that I should I be recording my tracks at a louder volume?

Thanks for any guidance anyone can offer!

Last edited by illold3chordme; 14th October 2015 at 07:57 AM..
Old 14th October 2015
Gear Head
Quote:
Originally Posted by illold3chordme View Post