The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
My Ableton Live is lagging Audio Interfaces
Old 17th September 2015
Here for the gear

My Ableton Live is lagging

Hey everybody,

I'm new to ableton live and I use to use LPX. My issue is lag. While I'm in the creative process I have to wait a few seconds between tasks such as moving tracks around and editing certain tracks. It can get frustrating when its consistent and can kill the creative process. When I use to use LPX it ran very smoothly. I prefer to use ableton because of the features it has to offer. I just wish it ran smoothly and without lag. I recently updated my ableton from 32 bit to 64 bit hoping it would fix the problem and it seems to be running the same. Any suggestions?

I have a:
Macbook Pro (15inch, Early 2011)
Processor: 2 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory: 16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Harddrive: 250 GB Solid State SATA Drive

Software: Ableton 9.2.2 64 bit
Sample Rate: 44100
Buffer Size: 2048 Samples
CPU usage is at 12% on average

Interface: Apollo Twin Duo

Thanks
Old 18th September 2015
Lives for gear

You shouldn't need that big of a buffer size with that hardware IMO. That's damn big, especially for more live arranging. I'd try to go 256 or 128 even, if possible. That shouldn't kill your CPU.

All you have for hard drives is a 250 GB? An issue _may be_ the fact that the swap drive doesn't have enough space as you only have 256 GB of space for OS, programs, samples, recording, etc.
Old 18th September 2015
Gear Maniac

Make sure wi-fi is disabled when you open Ableton, that made a big difference for me.
Old 18th September 2015
Here for the gear

Thanks for the advice, Whats Hardware IMO?