The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
DAW Dilemma: Is PT a solid DAW for someone out there?
Old 31st August 2015
Lives for gear

DAW Dilemma: Is PT a solid DAW for someone out there?

Warning: frustrated, stream of consciousness rant ahead...

Edit: in the interest of specificity, here are my system specs:

iMac 3.4ghz i7 Quad Core, 16g RAM, OSX 10.9.5, PT 11.3.1
UAD Apollo interface (track through Burl B2, monitor through D Box, not that any of that should matter here...)

I'm a long time Pro Tools guy. I know it inside and out, I work by keystrokes, I'm fast at it.

But for the last couple years, it's just been SO G*&$amn buggy. I have errors all the time. CPU errors (when I'm nowhere near pushing my CPU), disk allocation stuff, lost audio files. It's incredibly frustrating. Just brutal. I trash preferences, I reboot, I occasionally pay the $35 to call and talk to an actual support person (). I've lately just been feeling fed up like crazy, to put it lightly. I'm trying to exercise restraint right now as I type because I want to just scream expletives.

Tonight I'm working on some simple live audio/video performances. A few mics and some video. I am getting the same couple errors OVER AND OVER. I have to restart PT about 10-15 times a night. And it's laggy as hell with the video engine going.

IS PRO TOOLS A RELIABLE DAW FOR SOMEONE OUT THERE? Like, it just works and it's rock solid and you love it? There must be people who have this experience, right? Anyone?