The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Connsidering an imac i7
Old 17th May 2015
Gear Head

Connsidering an imac i7

I've been considering getting an imac 27" with an i7. It would be an upgrade from my pc which I've been using since 2007, which is a 2.4 ghz quad core(when they first came out). I really need to upgrade simply because I'm running on xp and the ram limitations are very frustrating. So I thought I might go the Mac route. I havent kept up too much with pc specs, but I'm concerned that while the imac will accomodate more memory, I wonder how many tracks can it handle. Also, how many plugins will I be able to run before it begins to give up. Can someone out there give me an idea as to what I can expect. Ideally, I'd like it to be able to run at least 20 tracks simutaneously or be able to handle a project that can have up to 80 tracks(not necessarily running simultaneously). I'd also jump over to logic(currenntly a cubase 4 user with reason). Any advice would be greatly appreciated. If any one thinks a macbook might do the job, I'm also willing to explore that possibility as well. Also, if anyone is wondering why I want to jump to mac, it' s not just the memory issue, I wanted something more portable and straightforward. Right now I've got a ton of wires coming out of the back of my pc.An imac would simplify my life. Thanks.
Old 17th May 2015
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by osharan View Post