The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Slave computer? Virtual Instrument Plugins
Old 5th May 2015
Gear Nut

Slave computer?

Hi everyone

My computer can't really take the projects I work on anymore - a lot of sample libraries, a lot of audio, a lot of inputs, loads of gear plugged in etc etc. The computer itself is quite high end and pretty maxed out with RAM, great fast multi core CPU, hard drives etc, so unless I've missed something crucial, it looks like I'll have to move on to getting a slave PC to offload some of the workload.

I've tried spreading amongst SSD's when working, obviously sample libraries on one, project itself on another, cubase and plugins on main SSD, but it's right at it's limit.

Problem is, despite being good with what I have, I have no experience with using a slave computer with my music, so was hoping for some tips for where to start. I've found things like Vienna ensemble etc - is this a must have, or are there other ways to do it?

Thanks a lot
Old 5th May 2015
I answered in great detail to a similar post a day or so ago, along with other peoples relplies...so you may want to read that post...not much time so I'll be brief...

What to do with spare PC?

If you're a Cubase user, you already have VST System Link, in which with 2 machines that have a Steinberg/Cubase/Nuendo version of some kind installed, will allow you to synchronize 2 or more machines together via a digital audio connection of your choice.

You don't need an expensive top flagship Cubase version. I've tested it and it works great with just an s/pdif connection, with VSL's data & stereo audio in the same line. Though I've send a few midi tracks as well, I don't see the need when you can record your midi tracks directly into your dedicated VSTi machine.