The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Rethinking my rates..
Old 25th August 2012
Lives for gear

Rethinking my rates..

So… I am re-thinking my rates and would love to get some input from various engineers around the world. I am a Freelance producer/mixer with credits and top shelf gear.

I am between studios right now and have two projects that require live tracking coming up and I am trying to figure out my day rate. Most of the “proper” studios that have what I need start at $500.00 a day. I have been talking to bands and most of the $500.00 a day local studios seem to spend two days and get five songs tracked/mixed…. (and it sounds like it)!

If I set my day rate at a modest $300.00 a day ($30.00 an hour) plus the studio ($500)
I worry that the clients won’t be able to afford $800.00 a day to track.

I can do whole song in 2.5 days. (Tracking/mixing.) So with these rates I would need to charge about 2k a song. 20k an album!
25 days of work:

I make $7500.00

The studio makes $12500.00

This is not good!

I know I am worth $50.00 an hour and $500.00 a mix, but without a building it's hard to sell it. Plus the added expense of using an outside room seems like it will drive clients away.

Mixing rates??
Flat rate for E.P/Album

Thanks..
Old 25th August 2012
Gear Head

Are the rates that you are quoting for the studios include engineer or is it just for the facility?
Old 25th August 2012
Lives for gear

Usually the $500.00 a day rate includes a staff engineer. The rates typically drop to $400.00 a day without an engineer, but some studios don't let outside engineers touch the gear.
Old 25th August 2012
Gear Head