The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
involved in making music for a short film with big hollywood peeps, some questions
Old 16th July 2012
Gear Maniac

involved in making music for a short film with big hollywood peeps, some questions

ok quick background: fairly big time hollywood assistant director, making his first feature short, kickstarter just came through. my bands music was prominently featured in the trailer/promo, everyone dug it, and the director (a very nice guy) expressed interest in me submitting further music for the short (though not scoring it, which is cool - i have zero experience with that) however, i'm not exactly Mr. Smooth Networking Guy, and i'm kinda nervous about putting the wrong foot forward interacting with Hollywood Dudes. maybe i shouldn't worry, but this is sorta maybe possibly My Big Break and stuff, so yeah, i don't want to **** it up. i've seen entourage, and that kinda shmoozy **** terrifies me lol

so, i have 2 questions for anyone working in the film industry in a professional capacity:

1) time for the first email post kickstarting success: along with general congrats and asking for the script, i've also been advised by a friend (also working on the project, also very very new to filmmaking) to bring up money right off the bat. now, despite being a professional musician who usually gets paid for ****, to be honest i barely give a **** about the money here. i want some doors to open, and some practical experience in making music for a film, money is a distant third in the equation. on the other hand, i don't want to look like a desperate shmuck who doesn't have anything to offer that's worth money. how do i express that in hollywood-ese? and should i actually i mention it in the first email?