The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Copywriting songs DAW Software
Old 2nd January 2011
Gear Maniac

Copywriting songs

Planning on recording an album in the future.. want to know how i can get it copyrighted? I heard if you just burn it to a cd and mail it to yourself, is that true?

Thanks
Old 2nd January 2011
Lives for gear

Poor mans copyright..

Technically, as soon as you record it, you are the copyright owner but that is not always going to stand up in court so I would suggest paying the copyright office to copyright the song. If you want to save some money, you can register a "collection of songs" for the one copyright fee but this can cause issues in the long run if you start licensing/selling them to different people so it is best to just pay the per song fee in order to avoid any problems later.

Im not a lawyer but I sometimes play one on GS
Old 2nd January 2011
Gear Maniac

That's the "poor" mans copyright and really not a strong argument in court.

You need to write to the Library of Congress, Copyright Office (101 Independence Ave., S.E., Washington, D.C. 20559-6000) Or find them online, U.S. Copyright Office and obtain a bunch of forms.

The Form for sound recordings is called an "SR Form", you can get it under the Forms link, along with any other applicable forms like form "VA" for your album artwork etc.