The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Jules, some advice on a distribution deal?
Old 13th December 2002
Gear Nut

Some advice on a distribution deal?

Hey Jules et al,
An artist that I play bass with has been offered a distribution deal for Canada & Europe, with a CD that I recorded and co-produced at my home studio as a spec deal. I have little experience when it comes to the business side of the 'biz and wondering if you could give me a little guidance as to what is a decent distro deal vs. what would be considered getting bent over rollz . The dist. company is offering us a 90/10 split in their favor, and it seems to me like we're getting boned, since it's already recorded and mastered. They are going to repackage it and use their channels to try to move it out of the US. You got any thoughts or experience with this kind of thing?? Much thanks in advance.

Tony
Old 13th December 2002
Lives for gear

Are they just distributing or are they talking a P&D deal? If you have no way to break into the canadian and euro markets and just look at this like an "extra credit" venture, you might wanna consider it, otherwise you are getting the shaft, IMO.
Old 13th December 2002
Hand on heart? - I have no idea. I have never had anything to do with distrabution deals, although I may in future.

Here are my gut instincts:

----------------------------

Sometimes you have to take it on the chin, just to get into the game.

Are there any other offers?

Or is it the only game in town?

Are future releases covered in this agreement? (be very careful if they are)

You speculated, distribution IS a way to accumulate!

You need more advice (obviously)

--------------------------

I suggest you consult a professional music industry lawyer before making any decision.

Old 13th December 2002
Lives for gear

90/10 ??? that sounds like a ****ed up deal

60/40 is the ususal thing over here