Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Modular Mania - All Things Eurorack and Modular Synths/Effects (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/modular-mania-all-things-eurorack-and-modular-synths-effects/)
-   -   Getting a Buchla Easel (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/modular-mania-all-things-eurorack-and-modular-synths-effects/997314-getting-buchla-easel.html)

rids 5th April 2015 07:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CthonicEwes (Post 10949521)
BTW, I love the tone of buchla--is it the low pass filter? I just love the acoustic-y sounds buchla get.

They're Low Pass Gates in the Music Easel. It doesn't use filters, but the LPG can act as one.

CthonicEwes 5th April 2015 07:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rids (Post 10949552)
They're Low Pass Gates in the Music Easel. It doesn't use filters, but the LPG can act as one.

Right. Obviously I'm not an expert. So, do these gates give the lovely acoustic tone?

Um, what exactly is a LP Gate? I know, I could look it up...

Cheers!

Also, I'm sort of an intuitive knob twiddler; are buchlas in need of expert controllers (i.e., synth nerds)? Or, would a rank amateur such as myself be able to get something interesting out of one?

Yoozer 5th April 2015 08:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CthonicEwes (Post 10949568)
Um, what exactly is a LP Gate? I know, I could look it up...

Read: Lowpass gate - Electronic Music Wiki and Vactrol - Electronic Music Wiki

Quote:

are buchlas in need of expert controllers (i.e., synth nerds)? Or, would a rank amateur such as myself be able to get something interesting out of one?
Interesting, probably, but it'd be frustrating as well.

When I got the chance to play around with a Music Easel last year, it completely baffled me. Nothing seemed to be working like I expected it to work.

CthonicEwes 5th April 2015 09:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Yoozer (Post 10949655)
Read: Lowpass gate - Electronic Music Wiki and Vactrol - Electronic Music Wiki