The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Processing Eurorack signal for generative visuals - Arduino?
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Processing Eurorack signal for generative visuals - Arduino?

Hi,

I hope this post is OK - I’m looking for some advice for my Master’s thesis project.

I am planning to build a system that uses Eurorack signal to control reactive computer-generated visuals. Specifically, I am looking to use 4-8 control voltage sources from a Eurorack modular system.

My current plan is to use an Arduino but I am in the process of considering the right kind of microcontroller to use for these signals.

Regarding the system interaction inside the computer, I will most likely be using Serial or OSC to communicate with a programme generating the visuals (likely Processing or Jitter).

Does anybody have any experience with similar projects? I am pretty new to all of this tech, so any advice is welcome.

Can anybody advise any particular Arduino models? Any Arduino externals? Is Arduino the best option for this?

TIA
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Guru

Don't forget to look at Muff Wiggler also. Lots of geeks over there.
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear
Arduinos will do this easily, which one to choose depends on the details of the rest of your project, but even the most basic UNO would get some form of it done.

Some of the pertinent details would be things like how precise you would need things to be - the onboard ADCs are 10bit (some models can do 12) so you'd need to see if that was sufficient for your purposes, or otherwise get an external ADC if not. You might also be able to work out some kind of software interpolation to get around that anyway.

The only thing you'd really have to add is some kind of limiting circuit on your input to constrain it to the 3.3 or 5V for the particular arduino model, and off course not to feed it negative voltage.