The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
choosing a quanrtiser
Old 15th February 2020
Here for the gear
choosing a quanrtiser

Hello,
I’m new here.

I bought my first system a bit more than a year ago (got a Make Noise Shared System) to overcome some creative block I was going through.
It worked (I managed to release an album 9 months later) but also fried my brain and changed my life.
I’m still a novice and still exploring, pretty much everything good I do is still a happy accident and impossible to remake. But I like that!
Anyway I have since slightly modified the shared system, as I’m interested in random sequencing and interaction with that.
So I jam / play a polyphonic synth (Prophet 6) while setting up the system to do its bit.
I recently added a Turing machine and the Telharmonic (to have a different flavour of oscillator and intervals).
Now I use René 2 as a quantiser but I tend to get messy stuff out even if quantised.
Sometimes it’s incredible, most of the time a bit **** / too wacky.
So I’m looking at perhaps getting a dedicated quantiser module.
What do you guys think?
Could that make a big difference?
Is there a quantiser you would recommend?
I’m looking at O_C but I’m very hands on and not a fan of menus and small digital screens, but it means I could have the Turing machine and quantiser in one module. Is the turing machine in OC exactly the same as the Music Thing one? I mean in term of behaviour?
The Intellijel Scales looks really good too and easy. I like the two channels and intervals options.
Also looking at the tip top audio quantizer
Any help / advice / thoughts welcome!
Thanks!

Last edited by FranzKirmann; 15th February 2020 at 04:09 PM.. Reason: typos!
Old 18th February 2020
Gear Nut

Keeping this short; Ornament & Crime is one of the most genius modules or electronic music device ever made.

Not much menu diving needed at all to get a interconnected musical relation for your whole system.

its 10/10
Old 18th February 2020
Lives for gear