The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Powered CV In jacks Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 9th April 2019
Lives for gear

Powered CV In jacks

Hi, I'm an almost complete newbie into the modular (actually semi-modular) world, and I have what's maybe a very stupid question. I searched the forum but didn't find a precise answer.

I have a Moog Little Phatty with the CV Out upgrade. I also have a Moog CP-251 CV controller and a few other synths with CV connections (Microbrute, Karp Odyssey).
Several CV In jacks on the Little Phatty and CP-251 are "active", meaning they supply power so a passive expression pedal can be directly plugged in them to control the related parameter.

For example, that's what the manual of the LP states:
CV Inputs:
The Pitch, Filter and Volume CV jacks supply power and will accept an expression pedal such as the Moogerfooger EP-2 (ring = +5.5 supply to the pedal, tip = variable CV return), or a control voltage from –5 to +5 Volts. The KB Gate Input accepts a footswitch (a momentary, normally-closed footswitch like the Moog FS-1) or a +5 Volt Gate Signal.

And this is the relative part of the CP-251 manual:
Eight of the CP251's jacks are held with red nuts. These input jacks are equipped with power for expression pedals. You can plug an expression pedal directly into any of these jacks - or use the jacks as conventional inputs.

Ok, so it is written that these jacks CAN also be used as conventional inputs. But isn't this in contrast with the fact that they are powered? If you plug a CV source in them, isn't this basically connecting an Out to another Out, which if I'm not mistaken is the only thing to really avoid with modulars?