The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Getting into Eurorack Modular Synthesizers
Old 10th April 2018
Gear Head

Getting into Eurorack

Hi all-

First post here as a lonnnggggg time gearslutz lurker. I'm a composer for video games/film/tv/etc (mostly games nowadays which is great). I've recently gotten really into messing around with VCV rack and it seems I've been bitten by the modular bug... never thought it would really happen, but there ya go!

Little background: I'm a reaper user. I ReWire from Reason quite a bit as I really enjoy that CV/modular type workflow. I also quite enjoy all u-he stuff (bazille in particular) along with the stuff from madrona labs. I own two Moog Sub 37s and a DSI Pro 2.

So, yeah... I started messing about with VCV a few weeks ago and it's been a bit of a revelation. Don't know quite how to describe it. Then before you know it I'm spending quite a bit of time over at modulargrid screwing around with eurorack setups. I'm contemplating selling my Pro 2 to fund the beginnings of a new eurorack setup. I've just never gotten along with the P2 as much as I thought I would... I'm not completely sure I'll sell it yet, but I'm considering it.

So! I'm looking for advice as a complete eurorack novice. I'm not quite sure where to start and it is indeed a bit overwhelming. I'm really into the Mutable Instruments modules and also the Make Noise stuff (though wow, can't say I can wrap my head around all the modules). I'd be looking to build something that can produce more unique and experimental sounds (vague, I know). I've got moog territory well covered so I'm not looking for much along those lines.