The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Why not just Doepfer?
Old 26th April 2016
Lives for gear

Why not just Doepfer?

I'm a modular noob considering starting a first modular system, based largely around analog wavefolding and tzfm, stuff I can't do with my normal hardware synths. So I've been doing a ton of research and comparing demos of complex analog oscillators (DPO, Verbos, Endorphin.es, Sputnik, Intellijel Rubicon/mFold, etc).

But everytime I think I see something unique (and analog), Doepfer seems to already have gotten there with a no-frills module that has all the features (if often divided amongst a few separate single purpose units), at a fraction of the price. Fewer internal modulation buses, but more flexibility through patching. None of the fancy graphics and fonts, of course.

For example, Rubicon is cool, but with a basic oscillator we're talking over $600. But a Doepfer a-110-2 and a-110-4 gets you tzfm, multiple waveforms, and I think all the extras of the Intellijel setup. I'm sure they don't sound identical, but all demos indicate not better or worse, just diff.

DPO is also cool. But at $600, why not do the a-110-2/4 combo with the a-137 waveshaper/folder, and for $450, get tzfm AND wavefolding? The only thing I see missing is variable slew between oscillators but any utility module can do that (ie: Disting or Maths that you prob have anyway), and you get the powerful possibility of wavefolding with fm, or even each into the other?

Doepfer always gets high grades on synth sites for sound quality, demos sound good, and its modules are boring but well laid out in terms of features, but they are never the 'talked about' units.

Do they just look boring? While I prefer cool fonts and graphics, if that's all it is, it seems Doepfer usually has more features and patchable flexibility for often significantly less cash.

Am I missing something?