The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Who's doing mobile live digital multi-track (at least 16) recording?
Old 22nd January 2015
Who's doing mobile live digital multi-track (at least 16) recording?

Who's doing mobile live digital multi-track (at least 16) recording and what are you using?

I've been doing it for 6 years now using a Mac (10.5.7) tower, 2 Motu 896HD, running Cubase 5. The sounds I've been getting with this set-up is good (the Motu's are BLA modified) and it's stable.

I wanted to add a second system, hopefully smaller, in case something in my current set up fried at a gig.
Old 22nd January 2015
Lives for gear

I was doing this on i7 MBP and RME UCX+M-Audio Profire 2626 via ADAT in Reaper. Controlling Reaper faders/EQs via custom Lemur template on iPad.

It's as stable as a dedicated recorder, sound quality is pretty fine.

Actually, i've done some live shows with this kind of setup as a digital mixer, using some VSTs, and it was better in terms of sound quality than any digital mixer up to 25k$ worth, even the rent guys who brought the Venue to this gig was amazed.
Old 23rd January 2015
Lives for gear

We have several very expensive systems, however, my favourite system is a macbook running reaper and anything by RME.
(our macbook system has an RME madiface XT for 198 channels of input)
Old 25th January 2015
Lives for gear

I too love RME interfaces. They perform admirably and are as stable as anything. Currently using a Fireface UFX paired with an Octamic XTC for preamps and digital routing. The 4u rack also houses a Lavry Blue 8 channel A/D for additional line inputs, and a Behringer Reverb that's connected via AES.

All in all 28 analog inputs of which 12 have preamps. The UFX doubles as a backup recorder. With a USB 2.0 memory card reader you can use SDHC cards to record. Or just a regular 2.5" USB 2.0 hard drive (It doesn't work USB 3.0 devices).

I've also been using it as a live mixer for three years.
Old 25th January 2015
Lives for gear