The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
SADIE what do you think? DAW Software
Old 8th June 2006

Verified Member
SADIE what do you think?

This is a post that I've put on the PSW mastering forum and I apologize if you've already seen it, but this is an important decision for me and I want to make sure that I get as much feedback as possible. So if you didn't see this before and have some relevant info I'd really appreciate your experiences.

I've been using my Sonic Solutions DAW for about 8 years and have been very happy with the results, until recently. I'm convinced that the Sonic is on its last legs and since there doesn't appear to be a Sonic "solution" currently available I have been looking at two options to replace my old machine.
One of those options is to go to the Sadie rack mounted 4 channel mastering unit. The other option is going to a custom configured PC using pieces from several mfg's. I am not experienced in the PC world so would be relying on someone else to put this together for me. Tom Bethel has been very kind in sharing his experience and time with me and if I go that route I will have a machine built to his design.
I'm comfortable with that, but since I have used "turn-key" solutions in the past the Sadie looks good to me. I've also had several of my past projects go thru Sadies and felt the final output was to a very high standard.
Of course the Sadie is more expensive. But it is currently much less than I had seen in the past and with the selling of some equipment I can make the stretch.
My style of mastering currently employs outside analog and digital processing so plug ins etc. aren't my biggest concerns. Audio quality, user interface, reliability and support are very important to me.
So, what say ye?
Is the Sadie a thing of joy to own and use? Or would you buy something else if you had to replace your system today?