The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Signal chain question for analog mastering from digital source
Old 31st May 2006
Gear Nut

Signal chain question for analog mastering from digital source

I have a few questions about mastering with analog outboard gear. Where in the chain do you insert something like an AVOCET or GRACE 902? DAW->DAC->EQ->limiter->ADC->DAW2?
DO you use the avocet dac to get out of the source computer?
Also do the coverters need to be synched to a master clock?
Can source DAW be the destination DAW?

thanks, daniel m.
Old 1st June 2006
Mastering

Quote:
Originally Posted by snaysup
I have a few questions about mastering with analog outboard gear. Where in the chain do you insert something like an AVOCET or GRACE 902? DAW->DAC->EQ->limiter->ADC->DAW2?
DO you use the avocet dac to get out of the source computer?
Also do the coverters need to be synched to a master clock?
Can source DAW be the destination DAW?

thanks, daniel m.

Unfortunately, the Avocet is not a (processing) console, just a monitor controller. I don't know if the Grace has processing inserts.

So you cannot use the Avocet DAC for this purpose. I use the Cranesong HEDD for analog inserting, as it now has an excellent DAC (with the upgrade) and always has had a superb A/D. But you can use any separate high quality D/A and A/D converter you like.

Here's a chain, just like the one you drew above:

DAW-----> DAC -----> chain of analog processors -----> ADC -----> [optional digital processors] ----> back to same DAW or a different DAW if working at different sample rate.

For the lowest jitter, use as jitter-immune a pair of converters as possible. In my chain, my ADC is most stable when run on internal clock, so I run the ADC as the master clock. As you can see from the above chain, the ADC can be the master clock even if it is not in the front of the chain.