The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
getting to the master mix,To bounce or not to bounce is the ????
Old 15th May 2006
Here for the gear

getting to the master mix,To bounce or not to bounce is the ????

Ok
I’m self taught and learning every day, I have a Gs3000 mixing counsel with two 896’s from Moto with a G5 dual 2.7 also have Uad,Ozone, Nomad Factory, Altie Verb, plugs. Ok I track through the GS3000 to my 896's, Now it's time to mix the project, I’m ready to bounce my Pre Master Mix to disk to a AIFF FILE--- orrrrrrrr!-- should I come back through the board again with that Mix and re- record to the 896 again to a stereo track and then add my Mastering Plugs to that track and then bounce my Master Mix. This would only be One Bounce in the process to the master mix. Would this be the right way with my setup.
Hope this makes sense

Thanks
Billy
Old 15th May 2006
Gear Addict

If you dont have a master recorder, like a masterlink or tascam (or 2 track tape ), then you probably want to go back into the MOTU after mixing on the board like you mentioned, to utilize your mastering plugins. and even if you DID have a master recorder, you still might want to go back in the box to use plugs, assuming you dont have any decent outboard mastering gear.

you will hear from many on this board about making multiple passes through converters and its potential to degrade signals. I will also agree with that, so I try and keep the AD/DA passes to a minimum.

I have a similar setup. I use a MOTU 24 i/o, and I track everything through a Soundtracs Topaz 24 channel console then into the 24 i/o. i edit in the box, using DP and PT, then back out again to mix on the board. i have a couple comps for the mix bus for my topaz, and a Masterlink to mixdown to. Ill leave the REAL mastering to a masterhouse from then on out, unless im in a pinch. I can bring the track back into the box from the masterlink to use some Mastering plug ins.