The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Up In Your Face
Old 2nd March 2012
Gear interested

Up In Your Face

I'm by no means a professional Mastering Engineer and I'm wanting to walk along that path but I'm stumped at how to achieve that nice, wide, "up in your face" sound. Stereo enhancers???Blah...they only do so artificially and leaves the mix thinned out. So any information on this would be greatly appreciated....
Old 2nd March 2012
You can use stereo wideners to a certain degree if the Mix has a decent stereo spread in the first place. But take care not to over do it as you can end up with nasty phasing issues as this is what a stereo widener does, it shifts the phase between left and right channels.

You can also use M/S processing to widen the Mix. Split the Mix into Left and Right channels and flip the polarity of 1 of the channels. This produces only the sides Mix with none of the mid mix.
Then import a left and right summed mono Mix also.

So you have sides and mid. You can add compression to the sides and bring them up in the Mix a bit and/or use EQ on the sides.

G
Old 2nd March 2012
Lives for gear

Verified Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by trakslasha View Post
I'm by no means a professional Mastering Engineer and I'm wanting to walk along that path but I'm stumped at how to achieve that nice, wide, "up in your face" sound. Stereo enhancers???Blah...they only do so artificially and leaves the mix thinned out. So any information on this would be greatly appreciated....
If you're not starting with a MIX that has a nice, wide, up-in-your-face sound, you're waiting a bit too long. Core sounds and mic placement (along with the actual use of space and depth) are going to have a far bigger impact on space and depth than anything the mastering engineer might use to preserve, slightly enhance or call attention to that space and depth...