The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
So I'm a recording engineer who masters myself...
Old 13th May 2006
Gear Maniac

I have been for a long time using plugins to achieve my loud large sounds. I have my own strange techniques of getting my material ready so that I can do this. Anyway, point is, I'm tired of not using the real deal stuff, especially my final peice of the chain(and often the only) my Tracks MB Limiter. Most people think I'm insane for using such a cheap peice of software but they are always please with the results. I work mostly on hardcore/metal material, and I'm pretty typically mastering things to near -8.5db RMS. Why I love about the Tracks Limiter is it's ability for me to brighten and liven up dull sounding mixes. It's taken me a long time to really get control of it, but it works very well for me.

That said....I'm convinced there has to be an analog equivilent that could do more help for me. I usually have EQ and compression(mostly analog) set on individual channels and avoid using it on the master. I typically despise digital compression compared to analog so it's definately odd to me that I can't find anything I like for mastering. My basic question is, what analog mastering limiter(preferably multiband) would people recommend for an engineer doing heavier stuff like me to get similar results or hopefully better. Also, if I were mastering "out of the box" like this, should I grab another A/D and if so which one. I currently have just what's on the FIREFACE 800.

I don't have tons of money so something under 3 grand would be preferable.

here's some examples(unfortunately somewhat old due to most recent stuff being unreleased) of work I've done. I'm also always open to finding a go-to person to send stuff to be mastered, though every time we have attempted that it has not turned out any better:

Here's a good example of my style
Hardcore track

somewhat lighter track hardcore
Old 13th May 2006
Lives for gear