The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Electrical loop Headphone Amps
Old 11th September 2011
Here for the gear

Electrical loop

Hi GS, I have had a issue within the studio for a couple of months now, regarding electrical loop (least that is what I think it is?). Basically, my monitor amps (K + H O300D)are producing different timbres of electrical noise instead of maintaining a constant tone (which is generally so quiet you can not hear it). I have tried many trouble shooting methods, all of which have not resolved the problem. It is not any feedback from computer or interface as I have just had the monitors pluged straight into the wall without any other devices connected.

Has anybody had this issue and do you know any ways of solving it? it is driving me mad! BTW, I am a UK resident so 240v, thanks, Paul
Old 11th September 2011
Lives for gear

Have you tried a power conditioner?
Old 11th September 2011
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by wado1942 View Post
Have you tried a power conditioner?
Thanks for reply mate, I have not tried one of these yet, will pop down to maplins tomorrow and get one :-)
Old 12th September 2011
Mastering Moderator

Verified Member
What do you mean with different timbres?
Low frequency hum? High frequency "whistle"? Tone sweep?
Could well be garbage in electrical the supply provided the earthing is ok. An isolation transformer is likely to help more than a conditioner albeit not exactly a cheap solution.
Old 12th September 2011
Lives for gear

Powerconditioneer, in most of cases will not reduce ground hum. I have Telefunken tape machine + other outboard connected to each other - when outboard runs without TF, = no hum, when only TF is connected to converters = no hum, but when OTB+TF is together = hum. Tried many power conditioneers, tried even connecting TF to other phase than OTB - no succes.