The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
noob at mastering... need tape advice (age of tape, signal chain, etc)
Old 9th September 2011
Gear Nut

noob at mastering... need tape advice (age of tape, signal chain, etc)

I am a noob at mastering and have a akai 1/4" reel to reel tape machine. I was wanting to incorporate it into my mastering chain.

I found some sealed boxes of 1/4" tape of an unknown age (probably at least 15 years old). Does tape age ok, or does it go bad after a certain amount of time? Should I be buying new tape to use on the recorder?

What do the two speeds effectively do?

Advice for a noob is appreciated. Thanks.
Old 9th September 2011
Lives for gear

It depends on the formula of tape you have. Some of them are fine, but others absorb moisture from the air and get sticky. It's not always obvious that there's a problem at first, but it starts to drag in the transport and junk builds up in the tape path, diminishing quality and possibly damaging the machine. The buildup of stuff can in turn damage the tape. In such cases, I've never not been able to get a clean transfer from such tapes after a proper bake, but I'd never record on such tapes. In fact, I don't record on any tape where I don't know the exact history of it. No used tape, no 2nd hand tape of any kind.