The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Ozone Groan
Old 9th September 2011
Gear Nut

Ozone Groan

I'm pretty new to Ozone but it seems if I apply it on a mix that fades in or out at some point it just cuts off and there's no place for a subtle rise in volume. Is this because I should apply my fades after the fact? If I have a quite part in the middle of the song it cuts it off. I was looking for something that controls this threshold but I can't seem to find it. Please help this poor noob.
Old 9th September 2011
Lives for gear

Do you have the expander turned on? It's almost never needed in mastering, make sure the bottom Ratio control in each band of the compressor is set to zero. (Setting it to a negative number is a really interesting and useful effect, but for a self-professed noob you might want to leave it at zero until you get the hang of the rest of the plug.)
Old 9th September 2011
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by spidernook View Post
I'm pretty new to Ozone but it seems if I apply it on a mix that fades in or out at some point it just cuts off and there's no place for a subtle rise in volume. Is this because I should apply my fades after the fact? If I have a quite part in the middle of the song it cuts it off. I was looking for something that controls this threshold but I can't seem to find it. Please help this poor noob.
That kind of soubds like a gate of some sort, not sure what you are doing for compression but be sure that you don't have agrresive settings. A good preset to start with for references levels on all of the tools is "CD" it basically gets your levels up without a ot of coloration ans the compression settings are fairly tame.
Old 9th September 2011
Here for the gear

Had the same problem and found the expander ratio and threshold was off.