The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Low rent mastering Virtual Instrument Plugins
Old 1st September 2011
Gear Maniac

Low rent mastering

I want to provide an inexpensive mastering service (15 USD / TRACK). It will all be done ITB using legit gear.

I am no pro but for 15 USD I can give value for money - though it won’t be up there with you 60 USD + guys

Is this wrong?

FYI here is a mock up of the site:
Old 1st September 2011
Lives for gear

Not really wrong, a man has to earn a buck somehow... you'll find your niche maybe. Everyone has the right to try.

BUT I fail to see the reason to attempt something that you know in advance won't be "on par" at least with the average level of mastering as you honestly admit.

I would suggest you offer this when you are ready to be "ON PAR" - even with the limited equipment - but you need to have at least a proper room and some serious monitoring - you can do a lot ITB - but not without a room and proper full range monitors... Otherwise your operation will be just a mockery of the term "mastering" as too many guys out there already do...

What you describe is something that most mixing guys can do with a little extra time on the side - sort of giving out a bit hotter mixes so the clients don't get too confused when listening to mixes outside the studio.

Personally I started to feel bad even for doing "mastering" jobs occasionally for friends, since there are so many "60 bucks per track" guys around with a lot of experience, great equipment, serious credentials...

I'll raise my mixing rates and try to refuse those little mastering jobs in the future...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benedict View Post
I want to provide an inexpensive mastering service (15 USD / TRACK). It will all be done ITB using legit gear.