The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
NEW GUY WITH Final MASTERING Questions Drum Machines & Samplers
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Head

NEW GUY WITH Final MASTERING Questions

Hello Guys i am new to GS as far as membership but have been reading posts for several years now.

I mix cheer leading music professionally and built a dedicated studio to my craft a couple years back. My space is concrete block construction with double sound board dry wall surfaces and Auralex bass traps. In a corner of mythe studio is a vocal booth built the same way with added 7 auralex kits insulating the inside> It is used for voice over and rap overs for our mixes.

Cheer music has became extremely demanding over the last couple years and the expectations of the mixes are extremely high.

I have been mastering with Ozone for a couple years and have had good results. I feel like i am a bit hung up on trying to achieve best balance between maximum loudness and still retaining dynamics.

I have event tr8 studio monitors and what i believe to be a great space to listen in. There are probably 3 to 4 other guys in my industry that i consider mixing at a higher level that me. My goal here is to get over the edge by delivering and evn more polished final mix.

When studying wav files of my competitors i find it common to sit around -7.0 RMS which seems like really loud. Yet the mixes do sound high quality and side by side sound more impressive that the lesser compressed mix. Is there some magic frequency that i can cut out to achieve an apparent louder yet still clear mix<

eq wize I usually cut out at 20 htz, 200 htz, and 18 k.

any help would be appreciated
Old 20th December 2010
Gear Maniac