The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Mastering Stamina Multi-Ef­fects Plugins
Old 19th December 2010
Gear Addict

Mastering Stamina

Hello,

I'm just new to the process of mastering and so far I'm loving the art. I just wanted to know from the more experienced ME's here how long do you work on a project on a given day. The reason I am asking is because it seems like I over did it for one day now my ears are abit tired.

Also do you take a day off between projects to reset your ears for the next project?

Thanks in advance.
Old 19th December 2010

Verified Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmarra View Post
Hello,

I'm just new to the process of mastering and so far I'm loving the art. I just wanted to know from the more experienced ME's here how long do you work on a project on a given day. The reason I am asking is because it seems like I over did it for one day now my ears are abit tired.

Also do you take a day off between projects to reset your ears for the next project?

Thanks in advance.
Nobody comes after you to catch any errors, so mastering isn't the stage at which you want to be doing marathon days. You are the safety net. Take some regular breaks, and limit the listening hours and monitor volume. If editing, cutting parts, or doing QC makes the session longer, that's OK, but try to limit the listening hours. Everybody is different, and experience helps, but I wouldn't want more than 8 hours of listening in any mastering session.
Old 19th December 2010
Lives for gear

Verified Member
I would agree that listening for 6-8 hours per day, 5 days/week is enough.
Lots of short ear breaks are a good thing.
All through the '90s remember doing many 10-12 hour days running, with very few days off.

JT
Old 19th December 2010
jdg
Lives for gear

Verified Member
my stamina has lowered alot over the past several years
(twss)