The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Mastering Room Acoustics
Old 8th November 2005
Lives for gear

Mastering Room Acoustics

I'm working on putting together a mastering room, and trying to get all the acoustic treatment figured out. I'm pretty new at this, does anybody have any experience at this? I'm going to put most of my efforts into bass trapping, but what about mids/highs? Is it pretty typical to use diffusion in a mastering environment?

I've got a pile of 2" foam lying around, which I'll probably try to use sparingly to tame some echos, as this room will be fairly small. (Appox. dimensions, 12' wide x 15' long x 8' high). What would you guys do? Is the 2" foam a bad idea, or will it have some use in a mastering room? Any ideas on this subject would be helpful.
Old 8th November 2005
Lives for gear

Verified Member
I'd employ the services of a qualified acoustician.
Old 8th November 2005
Gear Addict

Verified Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darius van H
I'd employ the services of a qualified acoustician.
...That, or do a search on the forum. I have been asking people around for the same thing.

Check the realtraps website (the owner -I think- Ethan posts here) there are some really good documents there.

Otherwise, wait for Ethan to "chip in" in this thread, he has been very helpful in the past.

Gomez
Old 8th November 2005
Lives for gear