The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Mastering With Adobe Audition? DAW Software
Old 21st March 2010
Gear Addict

Mastering With Adobe Audition?

I am not a professional when it comes to mastering but I do my best. I have been using Sound Forge and L3 for a while and just tried Adobe Audition with its mastering module. It has an exciter, maximizer, etc. I don't know if its just me (that's why I'm posting) but the quality I am getting out of Adobe Audition vs Waves L3 is amazing. The mix sounds like it has more life to it and much clearer.

Has anyone else used Adobe Audition and seen the same results?
Old 21st March 2010
Lives for gear

I have Audition as well as it's predecessor Cool Edit Pro. I don't like a lot of the things about the workflow but it does some things with better quality than many other software that's much more expensive.

Some things I should note, the L3 is about the worst thing you can do to your mixes, same thing with those "enhancer" type devices and plugins. Now I haven't used Sound Forge in over 10 years but I don't remember it being particularly impressive. That was 10 years ago though and things change. So if you like Audition better, use it. The limiter designed by Syntrillium is far better than the L3 and in many ways, the L2. However, Adobe modified it to prevent certain settings from being used which I don't like. I want to make up my own mind about how I set my limiter. I thought about upgrading from CEP 2.1 to Audition and somebody even gave me his copy in trade but in my experimentation with it, Adobe doesn't understand audio and they've done some very foolish things to CEP that counteract many of the improvements they made. So I'm still using CEP for now.

Hope that helps.
Old 21st March 2010