The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Compressor Help? Wicked Noob!
Old 18th November 2009
Here for the gear

Compressor Help? Wicked Noob!

Hi Gang,

I was just wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction and-or keep me from wasting money on gear that won't work for my application. Compared to most folks here I'm a noob to some degree. Anyway here is my senario.

Home studio w/ a Roland VS-2480. I want to get a hardware compressor for fattening the mix as I make a master on an Alesis Masterlink 9600. I was thinking on getting an Avalon 747 for the tube & SS signal paths. I record a lot of fusion style quick and busy acoustic drums. I was wondering if this compressor is a good choice for running an enire mix through?

Thanks for any information!

I have used the search function too. Came up with some info but looking for more. Thanks-

Last edited by tuvokzeta9; 18th November 2009 at 01:01 AM.. Reason: Guidelines
Old 18th November 2009
Lives for gear

Verified Member
3 Reviews written
I think for your applications you'd most likely be better off with an API 2500 than the Avalon.

Best regards,
Steve Berson
Old 18th November 2009
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cellotron View Post
I think for your applications you'd most likely be better off with an API 2500 than the Avalon.

Best regards,
Steve Berson
Thanks for the input Steve. I saw the API in the last Sweetwater catalog. It is really nice. I was kinda sold on the tube and SS versatility of the Avalon but the quickness of the API seems to be strong point.
Old 18th November 2009
Lives for gear

Verified Member
3 Reviews written
I'd go along with that ^

The most likely I'd sell my Avalon for would be the API. It's only a matter of time