The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Gracenote, CD Text, and cranky execs.
Old 13th November 2009
Lives for gear

Gracenote, CD Text, and cranky execs.

A few months ago I did a mastering job for a compilation CD. Now it is out and I am getting flack rom the producer for not uploading titles to Gracenote so it shows up in iTunes. I am pretty sure I did, but not positive. Sometimes I wait for the replicated CD to do that.

So yesterday morning I re-submitted the titles, and still it does not show up in iTunes this evening. I know it can take a while, but shouldn't 24 hours be enough?

Is it possible that Gracenote doesn't like the CD? Is there anything I can do to get it to work beside using iTunes to submit the titles? Could it NOT be my fault? The producer is saying the record exec is blaming me... but I did send up the titles!

A separate but related issue: The producer at first accused me of not putting CDTEXT on the disc, but they did not ask for that and I have never done it before - perhaps it would have made this a non-problem, but is CD text a normal thing to put on masters? Nobody has asked for it so far. Is CD text a normal thing to do, or only a value added feature to do on request?

All this is beside the fact that the copy I got as a sample will not play in three out of five Macs we have here, it spins and gets ejected - but the record company has not gotten any complaints from anyone beside me and the producer, so they don't care. With only one sample I have no way to tell why it won't work, but the edges of the CD are sharp and rough and it seems like cheap replication to me - could that make it not read? I tried my safety master and it doesn't show up either, but the ejecting CD is weird.

Any help on this?
Lou
Old 13th November 2009
Lives for gear

No idea what to do in your specific case; sorry... seems to be a pretty odd project and an odd label if you ask me...