The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Starting my own business with 20k Studio Monitors
Old 11th November 2009
Here for the gear

Starting my own business with 20k

Hello guys,

I have little over 10 years experience in producing music with logic and mastering my own music. Now i want to start my own business in mastering.

This what i thought.

2k for professional acoustic
1k for web site
3k for mac pro
4k for prismsound orpheus
1,5k for genelec sub with my 8040´s
4k for thermionic culture phoenix mastering
2-5k for some good eq??
maybe some good plugins like flux?

Also i need good mastering program/DAW for mac?

Does this sound realistic? ME´s please give me some advice?

Thanks!
Old 11th November 2009
Gear Addict

I'd ditch the Phoenix and get better loudspeakers and soend a bit more on room treatment and an acoustician. thumbsup
Old 11th November 2009
Lives for gear

12k on speakers and acoutician/treatment

3k for Mac Pro

3K for cheaper but still excellent I/O and conversion

2k on Some top notch ITB plugins.

This will go further, quicker.

When you pay off this, then you could slowly upgrade to outboard. If the room and speakers aren't up to spec, no amount of gear will help.
Old 11th November 2009
Here for the gear

Thanks for the replies. So can you guys recommend some good speakers for me? Something reasonable size? And something that you can buy here in europe too. Not too small company.

Is there any good daw for mac and Never1 can you recommend any plugins?

Im a little affraid to put so much money in acoustics, because if the business dies can you sell the acoustics?
Old 11th November 2009
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arska View Post
Hello guys,

I have little over 10 years experience in producing music with logic and mastering my own music. Now i want to start my own business in mastering.

This what i thought.