The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Wave Editor - insert track silence?
Old 25th June 2009
Lives for gear

Wave Editor - insert track silence?

I'm new to Wave Editor (1.4.4 being demoed right now)

I have a project all brought together with the intention of burning the premaster cd with it... I just got through figuring out track markers (harder than I thought), but now I want to make sure most (not all) the tracks have 2 seconds of silence in between them as per the artist's request... something iTunes does pretty easily... any suggestions? Forum searching here and @ audio-file engineering has turned up nothing. My track markers are right on top of each other (track end is on next track's beginning)...

Help! Time crunching over here and I'd love to get it done and out today with this program... It's definitely got the potential to be powerful, it's just very unclear.

Thanks,
Matt
Old 25th June 2009
Lives for gear

Verified Member
I've been helping them with some beta testing so I have been putting it through it's paces.
You are best off creating your gap between the end mark of the previous track and the start mark of the next.
You can move the tracks outwards really easily as you go through the album, from the end of track one.
Get the gaps between the layers how you want them and then put the marks in afterwards.
The PQ list will end up showing the duration of each gap.

Wave Editor makes pretty well sorted DDP files that the mastering DAW's seem to have no problem reading.
These guys appear to have nailed the metadata issues!
I have still not tried them at the plant though!

This task seems to be a tough nut to crack for any of the other OSX DAW's!

The only thing that is not quite there yet is the playback.
The SRC seems to always be present on the output, so there is a loss of level control and the DAC will be seeing some overs.