The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
General Guidelines
Old 20th September 2008
Here for the gear

General Guidelines

I'm a musician whose work is in the indie genre. I use logic pro and would like some general guidlines on levels.

Some questions:

1. What levels do you guys generally put vocals/ guitars/ drums and bass at? Is it - 6, - 8 and so forth?

2. How bad is it to be nearing on 0 on the master fader. Should the peak threshold be at around -2?

Thanks for all your help.
Old 20th September 2008
Lives for gear

Verified Member
There aren't really any particular "rules" like that at the mixing stage -- Don't clip, keep a reasonable amount of headroom everywhere you can, etc.

That said - I don't mix often anymore - But when I do, it's pretty freaking rare when anything individually is hitting above -12dBFS or so. Usually less.

Which, not surprisingly, is how I tend to track also. Percussive transients maybe hitting somewhere around -12dBFS, sustaining sounds (vocals, guitars, etc.) hitting around -18dBFS -- Maybe just a whisker higher on occasion if I missed something, but usually never much higher for anything other than a minor transient.

THAT said, I'm a complete ***** for headroom... My tracking converters are calibrated to -20dBFS and I wish I could get them to -24dBFS.

[EDIT] I'm here at GearSLUTZ and I can't use the word that can be sometimes interchanged with slut that rhymes with "door" but starts with an "H" sound...?
Old 20th September 2008
Gear Head

Its worth reflecting that older, averaging, analogue meters, VU (Volume Unit) meters most often used to record to tape optimally maximising the medium are treated quite differently to the type of peak metering available in most DAW’s.

Digital metering in DAW’s can be highly misleading.

Even some digital hardware produced has actually utilised analogue stages for their meters.