The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Where do recording studios and labels archive their data? Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 11th September 2007
Gear Addict

Where do recording studios and labels archive their data?

I have GB's of original compositions on Hard drives, dvd's, ipod, etc...you name it...I have many back-ups of everything. Also, I am a professional photographer and do the same with my digital files. Where do the pros store away their old hard drives, data, etc. I know of a service called Iron mountain....but there has to be other places. Please chime in
Old 11th September 2007
Lives for gear

Verified Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abery Clark View Post
I have GB's of original compositions on Hard drives, dvd's, ipod, etc...you name it...I have many back-ups of everything. Also, I am a professional photographer and do the same with my digital files. Where do the pros store away their old hard drives, data, etc. I know of a service called Iron mountain....but there has to be other places. Please chime in
You could look into a disaster recovery company like Sungard for offsite data storage, but until you're talking terabytes I don't know that it's cost-effective. How about a safe at your local bank?
Old 11th September 2007
Lives for gear

Verified Member
FYI...

HOLLYWOOD VAULTS - RESOURCES
Old 15th February 2009
Lives for gear

Backup up your recording studios recordings/ and pictures.

Hi, I won't trust Hard drives with moving parts imo are not 100% reliable. I feel safer to burn multiple copies on DVD and store them in a cool dry place out of the light. Also I keep two copies in different locations ie. in case a fire, my brother has a copy.