The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
converter clipping for the poor :)
Old 6th September 2007
Lives for gear
converter clipping for the poor :)

I'm not a mastering engineer and only have a soundcard. I was very curious of converter clipping and some time ago I found this on the forums http://www.yellowmatterrecords.com/s...yMasterCUT.mp3 (steven slate drum samples demo song). The person who mastered this said he only used converter clipping. Since I can't clip my converters I referenced it on har-bal and tweaked a track similar to it by ear. Later I blended it with the orijinal source and figured that it could be a nice step in mastering. My problem is that I always end up with harmonic distortion and I guess because my reference is an mp3. Also I am not benefiting enough because my converter clipping sound is limited to that song. I thought if I had a reference like this it would solve my problem;clipping white noise on a converter at 96 khz (.wav). Can someone make this for me and link it here(only 1-2 seconds would be enough)? I know its not the same thing but I just want to try how well it works.
Old 6th September 2007
Lives for gear

Verified Member
Cooker -