The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Metered level peaks vs actual hearing level don't match?
Old 23rd August 2007
Lives for gear

Metered level peaks vs actual hearing level don't match?

Okay, so keep in mind I'm still learning this whole mastering thing.

So, I mastered a track with the peak volume matching my reference track. It seemed that the volume of the track was high enough in comparison to my reference.

The other day I finally got a chance to spin the tune out and notice that on the DJ mixer the track I mastered was peaking in the red with the channel gain knob at the same setting of the other track I was mixing in, the difference being that my tracks volume was actually lower, so I had to crank my channel gain in order to mix it in.

What am I doing wrong. I'm sure there's a bunch of things, but what would you say is the root cause of this? I'm looking for theory & technique solutions more then "you need to get this gear" type of answeres.

thanks.
Old 23rd August 2007
Gear Nut

Peak level has nothing to do with percieved loudness. The ear hears volume as an average so if waveform A peaks at a higher level than waveform B but waveform B has a louder RMS level, waveform B will most likely be percieved as being louder.

So you may ask; How do you get from waveform A to B?

Answer: There are lots of different dynamics methods to choose from depending on how you want the end result to sound: compression, limiting, some engineers clip the A/D converters. It depends on how you want it to sound.
Old 23rd August 2007
jdg
Lives for gear

Verified Member
peak vs avg (rms)
your eyes see peaks, your ears hear average

in short, compress the hell out of the sucker...

im sure more ppl will chime in with info
Old 23rd August 2007
Lives for gear

Verified Member