The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
3 way speakers?
Old 18th May 2020
Here for the gear

3 way speakers?

Hey Guys!

Im new to this! I wanted to know your thoughts. Im looking to invest between Genlec 8341A vs ATC SCM25. Its hard to pick when you can listen to them rn. But wanted to know your thoughts!
Old 18th May 2020
Mastering Moderator

Verified Member
2 Reviews written
How big is your mastering room?

Please do not cross-post the same thread five times all over GS.
Is this question related to a mastering studio application/setting?
Old 18th May 2020
Here for the gear

Hey I did not know that happened sorry!
Old 22nd May 2020
Lives for gear

While the ATC sounds great its still a mixing speaker IMHO. I have spent about 10 hours in a treated room on them. They are a bit slow on the bass without the ports sealed. They have a tendency to make things sound nicer than they should be.

The Genlec 8341A I actually shot out yesterday against The ATC SCM25. The room treatment solution built into them is fantastic, simple and works very very well.
But like a lot of these monitors it has that dry studio monitor DSP sound to the system. Very hard to hear the subtle color of the boxtone on high end mastering units eg: high quality valve hardware, tape, transistor etc. If you were %100 in the box that might make it less of an issue. ATC is much more natural sounding by comparison.

Again not a mastering speaker so much as a really top end mixing speaker. They are very colored. They do work exceptionally well at low volume and right up close. Really balanced at low SPL. If I was looking for a late night non fatiguing system to work on where high SPL is an issue they are fantastic for that.
Exceptional on and off axis sound.