The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Ozone 8 Sets Learn Threshold Too High
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Nut
Ozone 8 Sets Learn Threshold Too High

Hoping someone might be able to help me solve this mystery with Ozone 8 standard. I'm mastering a track with peaks coming in at around -3db into Ozone, and when I run the maximizer with LUFS set to -14db and click learn threshold it sets the threshold at 0db, with no limiting happening at all. I'm not a mastering expert so maybe I'm missing something but shouldn't it at least try taking a few dbs off the peaks to give me some loudness?
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

maybe your LUFS is already around -14 LUFS without any limiting?
Old 2 weeks ago
Quote:
when I run the maximizer with LUFS set to -14db and click learn threshold it sets the threshold at 0db, with no limiting happening at all. I'm not a mastering expert so maybe I'm missing something but shouldn't it at least try taking a few dbs off the peaks to give me some loudness?
I'm not a fan of Ozone or any learn feature when mastering. It could be how the learn function was written or it could be anything without actually looking at your mix and your ozone settings.
If the mix needs a few dB's taken off the peaks, as you want, just set it up to do it. Your ears are way better than any 'learn' function that doesn't seem to work
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Head

Verified Member
The learn function measures LUFS values in real-time of the portion of the mix being played and then compares it with the target to calculate how much gain reduction is needed to achieve the desired levels

Your peaks are hitting -3 but the RMS Level is not, the mix - before the maximizer - is probably louder than -14 LUFS and thus you're getting the threshold at -0dbfs.

If you wanna experiment than reduce the gain by - say 6dB - and then use the learn threshold again for -14, it'll set it just so that you are at -14LUFS even though 0 gain reduction would be happening something like a 'gain boost'.